Aine Minogue – “Planxty Power”.

Hey people! 🙂 

 

For today, I have for you a lovely tune by New England-based Irish harpist and singer Aine Minogue, to whose music I have a huge sentiment as I’d listened to it a lot during various difficult times in my life and I’ve found it a great source of escapism and nourishment for my Brainworlds. It’s certainly not the first Aine Minogue song on here. This one is her rendition of an old tune by famous Irish harper Turlough O’Carolan. I’ve shared lots and lots of various tunes by O’Crolan on here, because many harpists, Irish and not, play his music and arrange it in very interesting ways, so if you’re into Irish music or just happen to have read any of those earlier posts I wrote about his music, he composed a lot of music for his patrons, who sponsored his music career, so to say, and tunes like that are called planxty. This planxty originally has lyrics, and was composed for a woman called Fanny Power. She was the daughter of his patrons David and Elizabeth Power who lived in Galway. Fanny married one Richard Trench of Garbally, which is why this tune is also known as Mrs Trench of Garbally or under other similar titles. She had several children and lived until 1793. 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.