Question of the day.

What was the last thing you texted?

My answer:

I was texting with Zofijka a while ago. Since her and me are the only people in our family who have iPhones, and Sofi can spend ages on the phone when not controlled, I’ve set up a family cloud for us a while ago and I control her screen time so that Mum is happy. It’s a compromise because otherwise my Mum freaks out so much that Sofi isn’t allowed Internet access on her phone, and this way it’s quite pointless that she has an iPhone at all. This is quite overwhelming for me though I’m happy to help Mum, I just don’t like the part of being the bad guy too much, and it’s quite a responsibility even if I’m mostly asking Mum what Sofi should be allowed or not allowed as Sofi is not my child so I can’t and don’t want to make decisions about her, at least not when Mum is around. And today Mum told me that I should increase Sofi’s downtime, quite drastically, and basically now she can use her phone only three hours a day. Some half an hour later she sent me an angry text (she is allowed to text during downtime) asking if I’ve limited her WhatsApp use as well, I said no, we haven’t talked about that with Mum, but actually I should probably ask her, because it’s not a good idea for her to have limitless access to WhatsApp now during school year. Sofi bombarded me then with frantic and aggressive texts about how much she needs WhatsApp and how key it is for her daily functioning, well she didn’t phrase it this way but it sounded as if her life depended on 24/7 access to WhatsApp. I mentioned that even if her WhatsApp will be limited, she’ll still have access to normal messages, so I don’t see the problem, to which Sofi responded that WhatsApp is almost the same as messages so it shouldn’t be limited. Well, if WhatsApp is the same as messages, what’s the point in using both of them and why does it matter for her so much which one does she use? I was feeling compelled to limit her WhatsApp just for her awful behaviour, but first I called Mum and told her about the situation and asked what she wants to do. And Mum wanted Sofi to have her standard app limit – that is an hour and 50 minutes as for most of her apps – for WhatsApp, so I cut it down and texted Sofi about it. So that was my last text.

Oh, and if WhatsApp counts as texting too, just while writing this post I got a message on there from Dad, who sent me some YouTube video, and I replied to him gently encouraging him to think independently because his source is quite biased and spreads a lot of bullshit, which I’m sure he’d notice if he’d thought of it before sharing with everyone. Uh, the way I put it on here sounds kinda jerky I guess, but my message really did not, I’m just a bad translator, even of my own writing, lol.

You? πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Question of the day.”

  1. What fun! Your sister sounds adorable!! I’m not sure what WhatsApp is, and I’ve never used it!! I can’t quite answer the question as asked, since I don’t text, so can I say the last email I sent? It was to Brutus, saying that I got the results of the contest my novella was in. There were four entrants. Someone else and I tied for third place. πŸ˜€ I think they didn’t have the heart to have one of us flat-out lose with only four entrants. I kind of said that in the email too. Gosh darn it!! Ugh!! However, I can sort of see the humor in it. I tied for last place! Go me!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sofi is the most adorable, provided she happens to be in a good mood.
      WhatsApp is an instant messaging app, perhaps it’s more used in Europe than America, it’s mostly used on smartphones but it’s available on desktop as well from what I know.
      Oh, yay, that’s a great result, though quite a hilarious situation. πŸ˜€ Congrats! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t do regular text messages very often because I always use Whatsapp with the friend that I’m in touch with regularly. The last message I sent was “he’s a funny potato”, referring to a photo I’d sent of Butternut.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The last text I sent was to sarah in colorado! And instead of saying a pot of coffee, my phone dictated a blood of coffee πŸ˜€ lol! I didnt know you now had an I phone! Sorry you have to be the bad guy with sophie though! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, blood of coffee. Interesting how strange things dictation can make up sometimes. πŸ˜€
      Yep, I have my iPhone since like mid June or so. I’ve still got a lot of learning but I am really enjoying playing around with it and am so glad I finally have it.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.