Question of the day.

Hi guys. 🙂

My question for you today is:

What are your family traditions, if any?

My answer:

I don’t know if we have any very unusual traditions that would be specific for us, if so, I can’t think of them right now. We are Polish, so naturally we have a lot of typically Polish traditions, as well as Catholic so Christian traditions are also present. We are a rather traditional family but I don’t think we have many traditions just of our own. The only thing I can think of is giving a child their parent’s first name as a middle, but, first, that’s more of a regional tradition of Kashubia, and second, not everyone in my extended family follows that, so I don’t really think it counts.

Yours? 🙂

5 thoughts on “Question of the day.”

  1. Regarding middle names, I was just now speaking to Mother on the phone, and I told her how, if I had a kid, I’d want either her first or middle name to be Granny Franny’s middle name, Evelyn–I adore Evelyn!!

    We used to always go to Granny Franny’s house for Christmas Eve, but ever since she died, our holiday plans have varied from year to year. Hmm…. other traditions… my dad and I have a lot of events we attend each year: Catholic fish fries during Lent, the local zoo on my birthday, the state fair, the St. James Art Fair–which is a famous local event, the Derby (we don’t go there, but we always watch it on TV), local farmer’s markets, and Homearama–a tour of newly constructed houses out in the suburbs. Thanksgiving, like Christmas, has become an uncertain affair as to who will do what and when; I’ll be in Prague this year, but I’ve assured Mother I’ll be back for Christmas! Fun question!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How cool that you have so many traditions like that with your dad, I like it! 🙂
      I LOVE Evelyn, it’s such a gorgeous name, honestly in my opinion it’s too good to use it in a middle name spot, as most people don’t use middles in daily life and it would be such a pity if your potential kid wouldn’t use it. The downside for me would be that Evelyn is currently very popular in the US, it’s exactly #10, and enjoying a lot of attention from parents in all the English-speaking world, but that just shows it must be very beautiful for many people. Because of the popularity though, I think personally if I lived in an English-speaking country I’d rather go for Evelina.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.