Anne Briggs – “Living by the Water”.

Hey people! 🙂 

 

Today, I thought I’d share this pensive and quite idyllic-feeling song by Anne Briggs, which first came out on her eponymous album in 1971. It is one of two songs on that album which Anne wrote herself. The other one, by the way, is called Go Your Way, and I shared it a couple of years ago, sung by Scottish singer Julie Fowlis. I shared Anne Briggs’s rendition of She Moved through The Fair last year, and in that post, I wrote a bit about her and her short but very influential career.

 

This song, from what I’ve read, was inspired by Anne’s experience in summer of 1967 when she spent a few weeks on a beach in the west of Ireland, all alone. That sounds like such a cool holiday to me! This song has always had a very appealing hermit vibe to me. In this song, Anne accompanies herself on the bouzouki, which she also learned to play around that time. 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.