Bibielz’ new device (a post with a PHOTO! šŸ˜€ ).

It feels like lately, the market of book players for the blind has been revived, if only for a brief moment. A lot of people predicted that they would soon become completely obsolete, taking into account the fact that now, a lot of blind people use their iPhones to access books and other media, which pays off more since you pay for one device that can perform the functions of several assistive devices, rather than pay double the money youā€™d pay for an iPhone just for a book player with some extra features. And it is quite visible that book players are becoming the domain of the elderly who have just lost their sight recently, or possibly students who need a more granular navigation inside their books than what popular reading apps can offer. Since I have very specific and perhaps a bit eccentric reading habits, about which I wrote more for example in this post, the switch to iPhone for reading books never really worked out for me, despite several attempts at ditching or at least limiting the use of my faithful PlexTalk Linio Pocket. Which I was ever so slightly worried about, because while my PlexTalk still works fine overall (perhaps except for a bit broken charger), its manufacturer appears to have ditched it a few years ago in that it no longer receives any firmware updates, and a lot of its features no longer work in practice, such as Audible which I describe in the post linked above. So I was kind of wondering what Iā€™ll do when my current PlexTalk dies. Itā€™s not like it, or other book players, are no longer available to buy, but it felt like maybe I should just keep trying to get used to Voice Dream Reader on iPhone rather than pay for some way over-priced device which doesnā€™t really offer anything ground-breaking for our current standards and isnā€™t even going to get updated. However, this year, Iā€™ve already heard of like four or five different new book player devices coming out, which gave me some renewed hope. It looks like manufacturers of assistive devices are still willing to try and create products that can compete with a smartphone, or perhaps complement it in some meaningful way. So I slowly started to think that perhaps now is the time to get myself something new to replace the PlexTalk, given that the options have expanded so much this year, and a few felt actually worth considering for me.

Ā 

The final straw that made me make up my mind was when Sofiā€™s computer (the desktop one that I had before I got the Mac that I had never-ending troubles with) broke. It didnā€™t break irreparably, but this event seemed to make Sofi realise that, actually, now that sheā€™s in high school, she doesnā€™t really need a computer, let alone such a huge one. She did need a computer for some schoolwork in the past, but now it no longer is required, and she does almost all her personal stuff on the phone. This turned out to be a bit of a problem for me though, because I still used Sofiā€™s computer for my criminal activity of stripping DRM from Audible books so that I could read them the way I like – on the PlexTalk, of course. It doesnā€™t seem like thereā€™s any software for the Mac accessible with VoiceOver that can convert Audible. This presented me with a dilemma: either I have to get a Windows virtual machine on my Mac, or buy some cheap laptop just to do all the things that are easier to do on Windows, or buy a book player that still supports Audible, i.e. its ā€œenhancedā€ format, or just say goodbye to Audible and look for English-language audiobooks elsewhere/just be satisfied with ebooks. – I guess the first option would be the easiest, but since I was already thinking about possibly switching to a new book player, I decided to look more closely into the third option, feeling grateful for such a sudden influx of book players. šŸ˜€ Initially though it seemed really depressing because looking at their specs, it didnā€™t seem like any of them supported Audible! I didnā€™t even want to believe that, because a few of them had done it in their previous models, when Audibleā€™s old format was still a thing. Surely theyā€™d be able to figure something out with Amazon to accommodate Audibleā€™s new format as well. I reached out to two companies whose devices seemed the most interesting to me except for their lack of Audible, and, sure enough, it turned out that one of them will receive support for Audible in a future firmware version, although it would be implemented in a rather unexpected way because the device actually runs on Android and instead of having native support for it, you will actually have to download the Audible app like you would on a phone. As it turned out, this was the device that I considered more interesting out of the two – SensePlayer OCR. – So, SensePlayer OCR it is!

Ā 

A lot of people must have also found it interesting though, because when I contacted our distributor to order it, it was out of stock, so I had to wait a month or so for it to come. And it finally came today, yay! Actually I totally didnā€™t expect it today so I was in a bit of a shock initially.Ā 

Ā 

I havenā€™t really been able to use it much yet, because only when it arrived did I realise that I donā€™t have the right memory card for it. PlexTalk uses an SD card, while SensePlayer needs a Micro SD one, and I was absolutely sure that I must have some Micro SD card somewhere along with an adapter, but, well, if I do, I mustā€™ve hidden it very well or something because itā€™s nowhere to be found. And I have all my books, music and everything on SD cards, so before my new SensePlayer can be of use for me, Iā€™ll have to transfer the whole Bibiel collection, so I bought a Micro SD card with an adapter which should be here tomorrow. But I already know how to turn it on and off, so thatā€™s a start, isnā€™t it?Ā 

Ā 

This SensePlayer thing is really cool, or seems to be from what Iā€™ve heard and read, because it feels really modern compared to all the other available book players. It seems like HIMS (the company who make it) must have really thought about something that will make it a worthwhile purchase not only for desperate little changephobic Bibielz like me or newly blind/elderly/technophobic individuals, but also other blind people who will no longer be impressed with a simple DAISy, mp3 and txt player (DAISY is the format in which most talking books are made currently). For example, the extended OCR version has a built-in camera and is able to scan documents. I have the OCR version, even though I donā€™t actually plan on using it for scanning paper documents because I have a scanner specifically for that, but what I do like is that it can also recognise text in PDF files, and I often read PDF books that are originally images so that should be very useful. From some presentations that Iā€™ve heard, it has a really good mic for a device of its kind. Devices such as PlexTalk always add their own internal hum into the recordings which makes them sound very bad. Plus you can even connect an external microphone to the SensePlayer which is really cool too. Or you can use its keyboard as an iPhone keyboard, which I can totally see myself doing a lot once I figure out how, ā€˜cause, well, I might be good friends with my iPhone now, but those who know me know that Iā€™m still not super efficient when having to use it solely through the touch screen, although people have been saying that apparently itā€™s a bit slow so weā€™ll see whether Iā€™ll prefer it over my standard Bluetooth keyboard or the Braille-Sense which can also work as an iPhone keyboard. Recently Iā€™ve heard that it got a new feature which makes it possible to record phone calls. Itā€™s not something that Iā€™d often have a need for, but I know that there arenā€™t even many mainstream devices which do that so itā€™s cool that they think about such things. And like I said it is on Android which means that itā€™s going to be expanded to be more like an Android phone or something like that. While all that is great, the final reasons why I decided on SensePlayer though are the upcoming Audible support and support for multiple languages. The latter seems like such an obvious thing, but PlexTalk really didnā€™t do it. I got mine with a Polish and a British English voice by default, and to my knowledge thereā€™s no way for a user to add, for example, a Swedish voice. But SensePlayer doesnā€™t pose such language limits. Well, itā€™s still not ideal, because they use Nuance Vocalizer voices, among which there is no Welsh voice for me, but Iā€™m used to that anyway, because itā€™s the same story with Apple and maybe things will change over time and weā€™ll be able to install Espeak, for example, whose Welsh pronunciation is DESPICABLE, but it is always something so I wouldnā€™t sneeze at it.

Ā 

This means I now have a proper Apple-HIMS ecosystem here, as Braille-Sense, my notetaker, is also made by this Korean company. The PlexTalk is probably going to spend its retirement years travelling around the country with my Dad, because he says heā€™d like to have some audiobooks to read while driving and PlexTalk is easy enough to use that he should learn it quickly, except the charger will need to be fixed somehow.Ā 

Ā 

Iā€™ve already posted a pic of PlexTalk and Braille-Sense on this blog, which should be in this post if itā€™s still there and I havenā€™t deleted the photo files from WordPress, lol (except I had an older BrailleSense model back then but the one I have now is practically identical in terms of appearance). So I thought why not share a pic of SensePlayer as well, as a way of sort of spreading awareness about how some weird blind Bibielz read their books, and just so I have an excuse to post another photo on this blog, since I do it very rarely. So, below is the photo of my brand new SensePlayer OCR, taken by my Mum, but let me know if anythingā€™s wrong with it or something, I post photos so rarely that Iā€™m not even sure I know how to insert images properly. šŸ˜€Ā 

SensePlayer OCR

8 thoughts on “Bibielz’ new device (a post with a PHOTO! šŸ˜€ ).”

  1. Awesome you got the sense player! But, does this mean now that you can no longer convert audible books, now that Sophie’s computer broke? It is sad if you cant, but if you have any books for me, do send them along! I’ll send some to you too soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A lot of tech stuff is Greek to me, but I’m so happy for you!! That’s a beautiful new device, and what can ever be better than getting a package in the mail? YAY!

    I’ve been toying with trying audio books, probably through Amazon Audible, I guess? I need entertainment on the treadmill, but I’m not sure if it would work out, especially with my hearing issues and the way I need closed captions while watching TV. It would be a new experience!! But for now I’m still being entertained by “Law & Order: Special Victims’ Unit”, so I don’t have to worry for a while!!

    Your mom took a great photo! Is that a white flower, too? Pretty!! I’m excited for you that you have a new device! That should be good for hours of entertainment! ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My Mum has also recently discovered audiobooks and keeps listening to them, as otherwise she finds reading difficult because it makes her fall asleep even though she does like to read, it’s just how her brain works. But she says she tried listening to an audiobook while running or exercising and it doesn’t work for her, she has to have music. Audible is really cool. šŸ™‚

      Yes, there’s a white flower indeed, it’s a peony that I got from my Dad.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Is there an alt-text and image description?

    And there’s a cat on the side [one that’s a bit like Misha] in the vase of the flower.

    Such a great ecosystem.

    A fortnight and so ago there was a show about a free screenreader made by two blind Australians for the whole world.

    I did wonder if it was on a desk or on a bookshelf or some other surface.

    “However, this year, Iā€™ve already heard of like four or five different new book player devices coming out, which gave me some renewed hope. It looks like manufacturers of assistive devices are still willing to try and create products that can compete with a smartphone, or perhaps complement it in some meaningful way. So I slowly started to think that perhaps now is the time to get myself something new to replace the PlexTalk, given that the options have expanded so much this year, and a few felt actually worth considering for me.”

    this impressed me too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I did add an alt text to it.

      Ah, NVDA, it’s not only a free but also a really good screen reader. I used it for most of the time that I had Windows computers.

      I think Mum made the photo with it lying on my desk.

      Like

      1. Good to know you used NVDA.

        It did seem to be fairly popular and had a good reputation among the blind and low-vision people I knew in Australia and elsewhere.

        Very good orientation from your Mum.

        The player is lying down; the box is standing up [like so many boxes].

        Were you able to get a listenable copy of THE FOUNDING by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.