Question of the day.

   How curious are you? 

   My answer: 

   Well, I am not aware of any way to measure curiosity (though now that I think of it I’m really curious if one exists and if so would like to try it out), but, for what it’s worth, I’d say I’m VERY curious. As much as I have mixed feelings about astrology, and, being an Aquarius, don’t really find much in common between myself and Aquarian personality traits, curiosity is definitely one thing that I do have and that is often mentioned as an Aquarius thing. I like to overthink things, look at them from different angles, and when you that, in whatever topic or field of life really, you’re going to end up with a lot of questions and wanting to know more. Also, while I’m a fairly extreme introvert, I am also curiously curious about my fellow human beings at the same time. I love to observe people, how they behave in different situations, what they’re like, to learn what they think, how people differ from each other and why and what it depends on etc. etc. I like to listen to people, and, in my immediate surroundings, a lot of people come to me to tell me about what’s going on for them or what’s going on in their minds, and it’s very interesting for me to compare how two people involved in the same situation see it totally differently. 

   I really like to learn new things, in particular in those fields I’m especially interested in, but I also often wonder about lots of totally random little things and want to know why something is the way it is and then I’ll keep digging til I quench my curiosity. I keep falling down rabbit holes of various depth, usually more or less related to my topics of interest, like some niche topic within one of those larger topics, and I’ll keep digging, prodding and poking til it feels like there either isn’t much more to find out, or what there still is to learn exceeds my lay person understanding, or I just get fed up with thinking about the same thing all the time. I can spend really long times in such rabbit holes, and occasionally there are just some that I never get out of but instead develop a full-time interest in a given rabbit hole. Or there are rabbit holes that I may not be into full-time but still end up revisiting more or less regularly with the aim of deeper exploration. They can be very sophisticated and nerdy rabbit holes, or very mundane rabbit holes. 

   Oh and of course let’s not forget fazas. In that particular area, my curiosity can feel absolutely unquenchable and unrestrainable. Which is, hm, just a little bit of a problem because, I mean, these are people, and being curious about basically everything to do with someone like that, I guess would usually seen as kind of weird. I am interested in everything possible about my faza peeps. Most of my faza peeps happen to be musicians, and often pretty niche ones so it’s not easy for me to learn very much about them, I have to just infer a lot based on what knowledge I’ve got. And, as people who know me will know, it’s far from me being interested solely in their music/musical activity. I want to know everything, down to how they like their flipping coffee, or if they do at all, or what they like if they don’t like coffee. I want to know what sort of relationship they have with their mum. I want to know what their happiest/saddest/funniest memory is. I’m also curious about the same things regarding my literary fazas, even though they’re technically creations of someone’s brains. I usually (with one exception being Valancy Stirling) get literary fazas on secondary characters, and it always bugs me so much that, even though they’re all pretty well-written characters with a strong identity, I know so little about what sort of people they really are, so when I was younger I wrote mini fanfic stories with them. Only  Ravi Reinssön, my most recent literary faza that I got in 2018, didn’t get his fanfics, because I haven’t really been writing much fiction by then already, but still I’ve created a lot about him just in my brain. But whatever is reasonably possible for me to learn about my faza peeps (the real ones in particular) I’ll always try to learn and investigate properly if that’s actually true if only I am able to do that and will do as extensive research as only possible. 😀 Which sometimes may be difficult if I’m only starting to learn their mother tongue, but I try nonetheless. 

   I’m relatively less curious when it comes to experiences though, my curiosity is much higher regarding intellectual or other abstract things. That may be partly because of me being rather anxious and so my motivation to do potentially scary things just to see what they’re like is much lower as a result. I don’t really see it as much of a problem though, or only rarely do. Usually I’m happy just exploring things on a cognitive/intellectual level and sometimes I actually feel it helps me see them from a different angle. Like, I much prefer just observing a group of people as an outsider rather than being an active part of it and I feel I take things in a lot more deeply this way and can analyse everything more thoroughly. I don’t usually miss being in the centre of things and I don’t think I necessarily always need it to quench my curiosity. 

   Curiosity is thus one of many traits that I share with my little Misha (a fellow Aquarius, by the way, our birthdays are only two days apart, but I think it’s more his famously curious Russian blue ancestry rather than the zodiac sign making him this way). His can be quite extreme and even make it difficult for him to fall asleep sometimes. He’ll hear the door creaking and he’ll sit upright immediately and have to investigate. And he’s nosy like an old lady, spending a lot of time looking out the window. The source of every single sound or movement, no matter how faint, has to be found out and explored. Any sort of change in the way things look sparks his attention. Sure, a lot of his curiosity is driven by very bad anxiety, but sometimes it’s actually so that when his anxiety and curiosity tell him to do two opposite things, the curiosity  wins, even though his anxiety is quite strong most of the time, so I think that says something about his level of curiosity. So I think that’s largely why we, two very curious and very anxious beings, get along so well together. 

   How about your curiosity level? 🙂 I’m obviously very curious, 😉 

2 thoughts on “Question of the day.”

  1. I’d say that my curiosity stems from my desire to search beyond what is easily seen. This, at times, make me seem not curious as my observations sink in and I search without others knowing. I have no particular measurement 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can absolutely relate to that. I’m also curious about things that are hidden or not obvious, like what I mentioned about people’s personalities, which aren’t necessarily always what they seemingly appear to be like at first glance, and sometimes that makes me also not very curious of the external world and what is easily visible.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.